The South Korean government plans to lift the mandatory quarantine policy for fully vaccinated foreign travelers starting July 1.

Key Points:

  • Effective July 1, South Korean citizens, visa-free travelers, short-term visa holders, long-term visa holders and Alien Registration Card holders will be exempt from the two-week quarantine if they meet the following requirements:
    • They received final dosage of a WHO-approved COVID-19 vaccination and show no symptoms for two weeks from vaccination date.
    • They were vaccinated in the same country in which they reside.
    • They are traveling to South Korea for business, academics, or humanitarian purposes or are South Koreans coming to meet family members.
  • Travelers coming from high-risk countries are not exempt from the quarantine regardless of vaccination status. Starting July 1, the list of high-risk countries will include Argentina, Bangladesh, Botswana, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Malawi, Malta, Mozambique, Paraguay, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, Uruguay and Zimbabwe.
  • Individuals holding an F-3 or D-4 visa are not eligible for the quarantine exemption.
  • Applications for quarantine exemption may be submitted to the Business Traveler Support Center (BTSC) starting July 1.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by Berry Appleman & Leiden. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact