What is the change? Pakistan has expanded its online entry visa portal to nationals of 175 countries.

What does the change mean? Nationals from 175 countries are now eligible for a visa-on-arrival for tourism, while nationals from 95 countries are now eligible for a visa-on-arrival for business.

  • Implementation:Immediate and ongoing.
  • Visas/permits affected: Visas on arrival.
  • Who is affected: Foreign nationals traveling to Pakistan for tourism and business.

Background: Eligible nationals should note that issuance of the visa-on-arrival is at the discretion of the immigration officer at the point of entry, and the traveler risks being turned away if requirements are not met. Business visa-on-arrivals are valid for 30 days. Nationals from countries not eligible for a visa-on-arrival for business can only obtain a business visa from a consulate, which is valid for 30 days.

Nationals eligible for a visa-on-arrival for business:
Algeria South Korea
Angola Kuwait
Argentina Latvia
Australia Lebanon
Austria Lithuania
Azerbaijan Madagascar
Bahrain Malaysia
Bangladesh Mauritius
Belgium Mexico
Benin Montenegro
Brazil Morocco
Bulgaria Mozambique
Cambodia Myanmar
Cameron Netherlands
Canada New Zealand
Chile Nigeria
China Norway
Columbia Oman
Comoros Panama
Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast) Paraguay
Croatia Peru
Czech Republic Philippines
Denmark Poland
Djibouti Portugal
Ecuador Qatar
Egypt Romania
Estonia Russia
Finland Saudi Arabia
France Senegal
Gambia Sierra Lone
Germany Singapore
Ghana Slovenia
Greece South Africa
Guatemala South Sudan
Guinea Spain
Guinea-Bissau Sri Lanka
Honduras Sweden
Hungary Switzerland
Indonesia Tanzania
Iran Thailand
Iraq Togo
Ireland Tunisia
Italy Turkey
Japan Ukraine
Jordan United Arab Emirates
Kazakhstan United Kingdom
Kenya United States of America

Analysis and Comments: The change is good news for nationals of the newly eligible countries as they will no longer have to obtain a business visa from the consulate and will instead be able to obtain a visa upon arrival, valid for 30 days.

Source: Deloitte LLP. Deloitte LLP is a limited liability partnership registered in England and Wales with registered number OC303675 and its registered office at 1 New Street Square, London EC4A 3HQ, United Kingdom.