The Irish government has removed Russia and Belarus from its Short-Stay Visa Waiver Program.

Key Points:

  • Russian and Belarusian nationals can no longer enter Ireland using previously issued U.K. short-stay visas.
  • Irish authorities continue to assess visa applications from Russian nationals on a case-by-case basis.
  • The Short-Stay Visa Waiver Program allows nationals of certain countries who hold a short-stay U.K. visa to travel to Ireland without obtaining an Irish visa.

Additional Information: Irish authorities will not recognize Russian passports issued in occupied foreign regions, including Ukraine and Georgia, when issuing visas or for those crossing borders. However, individuals holding Russian passports issued in controlled regions can still apply for asylum and remain entitled to Temporary Protected Status.

BAL Analysis: Ireland joins a number of other European countries that have suspended or limited certain visas and permits for Russian and Belarusian nationals. Employers and employees are reminded that actions taken as a result of the invasion of Ukraine may change with little or no notice. BAL will continue to follow the global response to the Russian invasion of Ukraine and will provide information as it becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact