The Indonesian government has updated its COVID-19 travel restrictions and health protocols for entering the country.

Key Points:

  • Foreign nationals who have been in or traveled through Angola, Botswana, Denmark, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Norway, South Africa, the U.K., Zambia or Zimbabwe within 14 days of arrival are barred from entering Indonesia.
    • Indonesian nationals with 14-day travel history in any of the counties above must quarantine for 10 days upon arrival.
  • Authorities suspended the Free Visit Visa Waiver and Visit Visa on Arrival until further notice.
  • Eligible foreign nationals entering the country must:
    • Have a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of departure.
    • Have proof that they are fully vaccinated or be vaccinated at a quarantine location upon arrival.
    • Download and install the PeduliLindugi application.

Additional Information: As of Jan. 1, Indonesian citizens can enter the country through the international airports in Bali or the Riau Islands. More information regarding Indonesia’s travel restrictions and health protocols is available here.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact