The Indian government has added countries and provided additional guidance on its air travel bubbles with 34 countries.

Key Points:

  • As of Dec. 16, India has air travel bubbles with 34 countries, including Australia, Canada, France and the U.S.
  • The air travel bubbles provide similar benefits and permissions for travelers from India and the respective destination country.
    • Air travel bubbles allow eligible individuals to fly to and from India even though most commercial air travel remains suspended.
  • A full list of India’s transport bubbles is available here.

Additional Information: Individuals are advised to check the entry, health and eligibility requirements of their destination country before making flight reservations.

BAL Analysis: India continues to restrict air travel into the country; however, the air bubble travel arrangements permit passenger services between India and participating countries. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact