The Czech Republic has begun requiring workers from “red countries” to be tested for the COVID-19 virus 14 days after entering the country.

Key Points:

  • Foreign workers who entered the country on or after Aug. 25 and who are not from a country that is on the Czech Republic’s list of low-risk countries must take a second RT-PCR COVID-19 test after they have been in the country for 14 days.
  • The test is also required for any foreign nationals who have spent more than 12 hours in the past 14 days in any country that is not on the list of low-risk countries.
  • Employees must provide their test results to their employers or a client for whom they are working.
  • The new rule does not apply to international transport workers supported by appropriate documentation; it does apply to both foreign students and teachers.
  • The countries for which tests are not required are: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, the United Kingdom and Vatican City.
  • Belgium, Bulgaria, Luxembourg and Malta currently appear on the low-risk list, but with an asterisk. Officials are requiring tests after 14 days for workers from these countries.

Analysis & Comments: Rules are being tightened for foreign workers from “red countries,” e.g., Russia, Turkey and the United States, that are not considered low-risk for the spread of COVID-19. Employers should make sure employees from such countries complete the test as required after 14 days. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and Deloitte will provide additional updates as information becomes available. Please check Deloitte’s COVID-19 Digital Map, available here, for information on travel restrictions and immigration changes in other countries.

Rest of World Source: Deloitte. Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited (“DTTL”), its global network of member firms, and their related entities. DTTL (also referred to as “Deloitte Global”) and each of its member firms are legally separate and independent entities. DTTL does not provide services to clients. Please see to learn more. Deloitte Legal means the legal practices of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited member firms or their affiliates that provide legal services. For legal, regulatory and other reasons, not all member firms provide legal services. This includes Deloitte Tax LLP in the United States which does not provide legal and/or immigration advice or services. This communication contains general information only, and none of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, its member firms or their related entities (collectively, the “Deloitte network”) is, by means of this communication, rendering professional advice or services. Before making any decision or taking any action that may affect your finances or your business, you should consult a qualified professional adviser. No entity in the Deloitte network shall be responsible for any loss whatsoever sustained by any person who relies on this communication. © 2020. For information, contact Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited.