The Peruvian government recently extended the State of National Emergency for an additional month and updated COVID-19-related travel restrictions.

Key Points:

  • Until Aug. 22, non-resident foreigners who have stayed in or transited through Brazil, India or South Africa within 14 days of intended arrival are not allowed to enter Peru.
  • Peruvians or resident foreigners coming from or transiting through Brazil, India or South Africa will be allowed to enter the country but must complete a 14-day mandatory quarantine upon arrival.
  • Peruvians, resident foreigners and non-resident foreigners who enter the country must have proof of a negative PCR or antigen test. If the test results are positive, individuals must quarantine according to Peruvian regulations.
  • Officials ordered the closure of land borders and suspended foreign nationals’ ability to enter the country by land. Freight and merchandise transportation are exempt from the land border closure.

Additional Information: The government-instituted curfew will remain in effect until Aug. 22, according to alert levels by province. Peruvian and foreign residents may enter the country if they comply with health protocols set by the Ministry of Health.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact