The South Korean government has announced that it will resume visa-free entry for an additional 46 counties in April.

Key Points:

  • Beginning April 1, travelers from an additional 46 countries, including Australia, Brazil, Canada, Israel, the United Arab Emirates, will be able submit applications for Visa Waiver Entry (K-ETA). A total of 96 countries will be eligible for K-ETA.
  •  K-ETA will remain suspended for 16 countries and regions, including Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand and Saudi Arabia.
  • Travelers who are eligible for K-ETA can submit applications through this website.

Additional Information: Individuals can travel under K-ETA for tourism, visiting relatives or to participate in events, meeting or other non-profitable business activities. More information regarding the K-ETA program is available here.

BAL Analysis: The resumption of K-ETA for 46 countries is another major step in normalizing international travel to South Korea. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact