The Brazilian government has suspended travel from South Africa and five other Southern Africa countries due to the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

Key Points:

  • Foreign nationals traveling from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe are barred from entering the country until further notice unless they:
    • Are a permanent resident of Brazil.
    • Are a foreign profession serving an international organization or a foreign official.
    • Are a spouse, partner, child, parent or guardian of a Brazilian citizen.
  • Travelers who have been in or transited through one of the aforementioned countries before the travel ban began must undergo a 14-day quarantine.

Additional Information: Individuals traveling from a country other than those listed above must have proof of a negative antigen test taken with 24 hours of their travel date or a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of their travel date to enter the country and submitted an Anvisa electronic declaration form.

BAL Analysis: The Omicron variant of the COVID-19 virus will make travel to Brazil from the aforementioned countries more difficult in the days and weeks ahead. Travel restrictions and entry requirements for Brazil may change with little or no notice. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact