COVID-19: State of emergency extended

22 Sep 21



The Japanese government has expanded and extended its COVID-19 state of emergency in many of the country’s prefectures.

Key Points:

  • Officials extended the state of emergency in Aichi, Chiba, Fukuoka, Gifu, Gunma, Hiroshima, Hokkaido, Hyogo, Ibaraki, Kanagawa, Kyoto, Mie, Okinawa, Osaka, Saitama, Shiga, Shizuoka, Tochigi and Tokyo prefectures until at least Sept. 30.
  • Quasi-emergency measures remain in place in Fukushima, Ishikawa, Kagawa, Kagoshima, Kumamoto, Miyagi, Miyazaki and Okayama prefectures.
  • For prefectures under a state of emergency, the government strongly discourages nonessential travel, non-urgent outings and travel across prefecture lines.

Additional Information: All individuals arriving to Japan, regardless of nationality or departure location, must present a negative PCR test conducted within 72 hours of departure and undergo a 14-day self-quarantine upon arrival.

BAL Analysis: Entry restrictions remain in effect and visa processing is suspended in all but a few exceptional cases. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact