What is the change? The Colombian government is requiring travelers from Angola, Brazil, the Democratic Republic of Congo and Uganda to present a yellow fever vaccination card before entering the country.

What does the change mean? Travelers entering Colombia from the countries listed above must present a vaccination or risk being turned away at the border.

  • Implementation time frame: Ongoing. The change took effect April 1.
  • Visas/permits affected: All visas and permits.
  • Who is affected: Anyone traveling from Angola, Brazil, the Democratic Republic of Congo or Uganda to Colombia, regardless of nationality.
  • Next steps: Travelers planning to enter Colombia should obtain a yellow fever vaccination and prepare to present a card upon entry.

Background: The change followed outbreaks of yellow fever in parts of South America and Africa and is designed to prevent the disease from spreading in Colombia. Bolivia and Nicaragua are among other Latin American countries that have taken efforts to stop the spread of yellow fever by requiring proof of vaccines from some or all visitors. Colombian officials are also recommending that all travelers, regardless of where they are traveling from, obtain a vaccination if they plan on visiting a part of Colombia that is considered a high-risk area for yellow fever.

BAL Analysis: Companies with employees traveling to Colombia from Angola, Brazil, the Democratic Republic of Congo or Uganda should plan for the additional requirement and time required to obtain a vaccination before travel.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group and our network provider located in Colombia. For additional information, please contact your BAL attorney.

Copyright © 2017 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact