Chinese officials announced the expansion of its unilateral visa-free policy to six countries: France, Germany, Italy, Malaysia, the Netherlands and Spain.

Key Points:

  • The new policy will be enacted on a trial basis and involve extending visa-free treatment to travelers holding ordinary passports from the six countries.
  • From Dec. 1, 2023, to Nov. 30, 2024, foreign nationals from these countries may enter China and stay for no more than 15 days for business, tourism, family visit or transit purposes.

Additional Information: Chinese officials said the policy is intended to further facilitate cross-border travel and economic development.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group.

Copyright © 2023 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact