What is the change? Taiwan has extended visa-free travel to nationals of 11 Latin American countries.

What does the change mean? Nationals of El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua and Paraguay are visa-waived for stays of up to 90 days, and nationals of Belize, the Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Christopher and Nevis, and Saint Lucia are visa-waived for stays of up to 30 days.

  • Implementation time frame: Immediate. The policy took effect July 12.
  • Visas/permits affected: Visa-free travel.
  • Who is affected: Nationals of the 11 countries traveling for business or tourism.
  • Impact on processing times: The visa exemption eliminates the need to apply for a visa.
  • Business impact: Business travelers who are nationals of the 11 countries will not be required to obtain visas for short stays within the limited duration.

Background: Taiwan recently expanded its visa-waiver policy to numerous countries in South Asia and Southeast Asia and is looking beyond its immediate neighbors to attract business visitors and economic partnerships. To use the visa waiver, qualifying nationals must have proof of a return ticket or onward destination, a passport that is valid for at least six months beyond their stay, and a clean criminal record.

BAL Analysis: The expansion of Taiwan’s visa waiver will ease processing for additional nationals. Travelers are reminded that business activities are limited when traveling on a visa waiver and work activities are prohibited.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group and our network provider located in Taiwan. For additional information, please contact your BAL attorney.

Copyright © 2017 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact