The violence in Cairo this week has prompted at least five nations to close their embassies and other nations to issue travel warnings urging their citizens to avoid nonessential travel to Egypt. In addition, the Philippine government has ceased deployment of its nationals to work in Egypt, and the Malaysian government has prepared a plan to evacuate its 3,300 students in Egypt if necessary.

On Aug. 14, the Egyptian government declared a state of emergency for one month due to the violent and unstable political situation that has resulted in the death of more than 500 people and injured more than 3,700. During the state of emergency, a curfew is imposed from 7 p.m. to 6 a.m.

The following foreign missions in Cairo are among those currently closed:

  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Poland
  • Singapore
  • United States

BAL will provide updates on the situation as it affects immigration. For additional information on Egyptian immigration matters, please contact

Copyright © 2016 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact