What is the change?  Uzbekistan now allows visa-free travel of up to 30 days for nationals of 45 countries.

What does the change mean? Foreign nationals from 45 countries, including Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and European Union member states, will be able to stay in Uzbekistan for up to 30 days visa-free while traveling as tourists. While tourist and business travel is allowed under the visa-waiver program, work activities are not.

  • Effective date: Feb. 1.
  • Visas/permits affected: Visa waivers.
  • Who is affected: Nationals of 45 countries traveling to Uzbekistan for up to 30 days.
  • Impact on processing times: The change will save tourist and business travelers time in the application process.
  • Business impact: Employers are reminded that stays of more than 30 days are not covered under the visa-waiver program; therefore, employees conducting business and work travel for more than 30 days are urged to obtain the appropriate visa or permit before arriving in Uzbekistan.

Background:  Visa-free travel has been granted for nationals from 45 countries under Presidential Decree No. 5611, dated Jan. 5, 2019.  Nationals of the following countries are now eligible for the visa-waiver program, effective Feb. 1:

Eligible Nationals

Andorra Argentina
Australia Austria
Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina
Brazil Brunei Darussalam
Bulgaria Canada
Chile Croatia
Cyprus Czech Rep.
Denmark Estonia
Finland Greece
Hungary Iceland
Ireland (Rep.) Italy
Latvia Liechtenstein
Lithuania Luxembourg
Malta Monaco
Mongolia Montenegro
Netherlands New Zealand
Norway Poland
Portugal Romania
San Marino Serbia
Slovakia Slovenia
Spain Sweden
Switzerland Vatican City (Holy See)
United Kingdom

Analysis & Comments: The visa-waiver program will ease travel procedures for nationals of 45 countries traveling to Uzbekistan for short-term stays. Travelers should note, however, that the visa waiver is appropriate for short-stay tourism and business activities only. Employees staying in Uzbekistan beyond 30 days or conducting work activities must apply for the applicable visa prior to entry.

Source: Deloitte LLP. Deloitte LLP is a limited liability partnership registered in England and Wales with registered number OC303675 and its registered office at 1 New Street Square, London EC4A 3HQ, United Kingdom.