The Department of Homeland Security has announced that it will extend current restrictions on nonessential travel at land ports of entry between the U.S. and Canada and the U.S. and Mexico until July 21.

Key points:

  • Current restrictions will continue until at least July 21. Only “essential travel” is permitted at all land ports of entry along the U.S.-Canada and U.S.-Mexico borders.
  • The list of individuals permitted to engage in “essential travel” includes U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents (LPRs) returning to the U.S. and people traveling to work in the U.S. (e.g., agricultural workers), engaging in lawful cross-border trade (e.g., truck drivers transporting goods), or traveling to attend school, receive medical treatment, for public health purposes, or a limited number of other reasons.
  • The restrictions do not include air or sea travel, but do apply to passenger rail, passenger ferry travel and pleasure boat travel.

Additional information: The measures were originally implemented on March 21, 2020 and have been extended in 30-day increments.

This alert has been provided by the BAL U.S. Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2020 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact