What is the change? Kazakhstan has implemented 30-day visa-free travel for nationals of 45 countries.

What does the change mean? The 45 designated countries represent an expanded list of nationals from the list reported in December following the government resolution.

  • Implementation time frame: Immediate. The law was implemented Jan. 1.
  • Visas/permits affected: Visa-free stays of up to 30 days.
  • Who is affected: Eligible nationals traveling to Kazakhstan for short-term business trips or tourism.
  • Impact on processing times: Eligible travelers will not need to apply for a visa at a consulate.
  • Business impact: The visa-free regime will ease business travel.

Background: Nationals of the following 45 countries are eligible for visa-free travel:

Australia  Denmark  Israel  Monaco  Slovenia
 Austria  Estonia  Italy       Netherlands  South Korea
 Belgium  Finland  Japan  New Zealand  Spain
 Bulgaria  France  Latvia  Norway  Sweden
 Canada  Germany  Lithuania  Poland  Switzerland
 Chile  Greece  Luxembourg  Portugal  Turkey
 Croatia  Hungary  Malaysia  Romania  UAE
 Cyprus  Iceland  Malta  Singapore  UK
 Czech Rep.  Ireland  Mexico  Slovakia  USA

BAL Analysis: 
The expansion of the visa free regime to 45 countries and for 30-day stays (up from 15 days) will eliminate visa processing for travelers making short trips, including those for business purposes. Business travelers staying longer than 30 days may, upon expiration of the visa-free period, apply in-country for a 30-day business visa (for a total stay of 60 days).

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group and our network provider located in Kazakhstan. For additional information, please contact your BAL attorney.

Copyright © 2017 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact