The Home Office has added Iceland and India to the Youth Mobility Scheme. Authorities have allocated 1,000 spots for Iceland and 3,000 spots for India.

Key Points:

  • As of Jan. 1, foreign nationals between the ages of 18 and 30 from Iceland as well as Australia, Canada, Monaco, New Zealand and San Marino can apply for the Youth Mobility Scheme visa.
  • As of Jan. 1, the government added India to the Youth Mobility Scheme but has yet to open the ballot for Indian nationals.
    • Authorities will require Indian nationals to meet sponsorship requirements once the ballot becomes active.
    • Foreign nationals from Hong Kong, India, Japan, South Korea and Taiwan must be selected in the Youth Mobility Scheme ballot before applying for a visa.

Additional Information: The Youth Mobility scheme is an exchange program that allows eligible foreign nationals between the ages of 18 and 30 to live and work in the U.K. for up to two years.

BAL Analysis: Under the changes, Icelandic and Indian nationals will able to apply for the Youth Mobility Scheme visa; however, the availability of these visas is limited due to the numerical allocation for each country.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact