The Emirati government has lifted its travel ban on 12 countries in southern Africa.

Key Points:

  • As of Jan. 29, authorities resumed flights from Botswana, Congo Republic, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania and Zimbabwe.
  • Travelers from the countries listed above must have proof of a negative PCR test taken within 48 hours of departure, take an additional rapid-PCR test at the airport of departure and another PCR test upon arrival in the UAE.
  • More information on country specific entry requirements is available here.

BAL Analysis: Travel restrictions and health requirements may change with little or no notice. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact