Countries around the world adopted special immigration and travel measures for Ukrainian nationals.

The countries that have adopted these measures include:

  • Australia. The Australian government is currently prioritizing outstanding visa applications for Ukrainian nationals for all visa categories. Ukrainian nationals who hold visas set to expire before June 30, 2022, and who are in Australia, have received an automatic visa extension for six months. More information is available here.
  • Canada. The Canadian government is urgently processing replacement travel documents for Canadian citizens and permanent residents in Ukraine and prioritizing permanent residence, proof of citizenship, temporary residence and citizenship grant for adoption applications from people who currently live in Ukraine. More information is available here.
  • Ireland. The Irish government has lifted all visa requirements for Ukrainian nationals traveling to Ireland. Ukrainian nationals who arrive in Ireland will have 90 days to obtain legal status in the country. More information is available here.
  • Poland. The Polish government has announced that Ukrainians will be allowed to enter the country on the basis of visa-free movement. Information regarding entry and stay conditions is available here.
  • United Kingdom. The Home Office announced various immigration exceptions for Ukrainian nationals currently in the U.K., including extended stays for Ukrainians on the points-based system route and the ability for Ukrainian nationals to switch visa routes without having to leave the country. The U.K. has also adopted concessions for those in Ukraine who can apply as a family member. More information regarding exceptions for Ukrainian nationals is available here.
  • United States. The U.S. government has extended an exemption to the country’s COVID-19 vaccination requirement for certain travelers from Ukraine until April 1. Non-U.S. citizen non-immigrants can enter the U.S. without showing proof that they are fully vaccinated against COVID-19 until April 1 if they are traveling with a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident, were physically present in Ukraine as of Feb. 10 and have valid travel documents allowing them to travel to the U.S. More information on this exception is available here.

Additional Information: Land borders with Hungary, Moldova, Poland, Romania and Slovakia remain open, and Ukrainian citizens can enter these countries without a visa Ukrainian men ages 18-60 have been ordered not to leave the country at this time. Government services in Ukraine are severely limited or unavailable until further notice.

BAL Analysis: Countries around the world may make additional immigration concessions for Ukrainian nationals in the coming weeks and months as the situation in Ukraine evolves. BAL will continue to monitor developments regarding the invasion of Ukraine and will provide more information as it becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact