What is the change? Taiwan has announced that it will extend visa-free travel policies for nationals of Brunei, the Philippines, Russia and Thailand.

What does the change mean? Nationals of the four countries may continue to visit Taiwan without a visa for stays of up to 14 days for tourism or business.

  • Implementation time frame: The visa-free programs have been extended through July 31, 2020.
  • Visas/permits affected: Visa waivers.
  • Who is affected: Nationals of Brunei, the Philippines, Russia and Thailand traveling to Taiwan for short-stay business or tourism.
  • Impact on processing times: Visa waivers eliminate the need to apply for and receive a visa before travel.

Additional information: Taiwan first announced visa-free travel policies for nationals of Brunei and Thailand in 2016 and added the Philippines in 2017. Last year, Taiwan renewed the program for the three countries and expanded it to include Russia. The program has now been extended until July 31, 2020.

Visa-free entry requirements have not changed. Travelers must have a passport with at least six months’ validity from the date of entry; a return or onward ticket (plus any required visas for the destination country); proof of accommodations, the host’s contact information or details of an event or meeting; and a completed arrival card.

Analysis & Comments: Taiwan’s extension of eased visa policies for nationals of Brunei, the Philippines, Russia and Thailand is aimed at facilitating business travel, strengthening economic ties and encouraging investment. While the waiver will benefit a number of travelers from these countries, those who intend to stay more than 14 days must still obtain the appropriate visa.

Source: Deloitte LLP. Deloitte LLP is a limited liability partnership registered in England and Wales with registered number OC303675 and its registered office at 1 New Street Square, London EC4A 3HQ, United Kingdom.