The Swiss government has expanded its online immigration service by launching a pilot program for certain cross-border commuters.

Key Points:

  • As of May 24, EU and European Free Trade Association (EFTA) nationals can have their cross-border commuter permits (Permit G) processed for the cantons of Thurgau and Zurich.
  • Applications for cross-border commuter permits at Thurgau and Zurich can now be submitted through
  • Swiss authorities plan to add the cantons of Aargau, Basel-Stadt and St. Gallen to the expansion by the end of 2023.

Additional Information: Additional cantons are expected to join the pilot program in the coming months. Swiss authorities hope to expand their online immigration service for cross-border commuters to all 26 cantons in the coming years. More information regarding the pilot program for cross-border commuter permit applications is available here.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact