Switzerland recently announced the lifting of entry restrictions for Schengen Area, EU and EFTA countries.

 Key Points:

  • As of June 15, entry restrictions on travelers from Schengen Area countries have been lifted, and Swiss border controls with these countries have also ended.
  • Free movement of individuals between Switzerland and all EU/EFTA countries and the United Kingdom is also allowed as of June 15.
  • The following six countries will remain on the high-risk list after June 15: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom. Restrictions will remain in effect for third-country nationals who wish to enter Switzerland from those countries.
  • Individuals with free movement rights will be allowed to enter the country beginning June 15. Foreign nationals benefiting from the free movement of rights from the six high-risk countries will be allowed to enter Switzerland, as will their family members irrespective of their nationality. Individuals posted to Switzerland for 90 days or less in accordance with the Agreement on Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) no longer need to obtain a confirmation of notification in order to enter Switzerland.
  • The Federal Council has announced that, as of July 6, it will lift all COVID-19-related restrictions on the entry of workers from non-EU/EFTA countries.
  • As of July 6, the cantons will also begin processing residence applications from third-country nationals who are not planning to work in Switzerland, in accordance with the normal criteria.
  • Third-country nationals are still not permitted to travel to Switzerland on vacation, and entry for a stay of less than 90 days that does not normally require a permit, as well as entry for short educational courses, medical treatment and non-urgent business meetings, will only be authorized in cases of special necessity. Switzerland plans to lift these remaining entry restrictions at the same time as the other Schengen states.

Analysis & Comments: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and Deloitte will provide additional updates as information becomes available. Please check Deloitte’s COVID-19 Digital Map, available here, for information on travel restrictions and immigration changes in other countries.

Rest of World Source: Deloitte. Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited (“DTTL”), its global network of member firms, and their related entities. DTTL (also referred to as “Deloitte Global”) and each of its member firms are legally separate and independent entities. DTTL does not provide services to clients. Please see to learn more. Deloitte Legal means the legal practices of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited member firms or their affiliates that provide legal services. For legal, regulatory and other reasons, not all member firms provide legal services. This includes Deloitte Tax LLP in the United States which does not provide legal and/or immigration advice or services. This communication contains general information only, and none of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, its member firms or their related entities (collectively, the “Deloitte network”) is, by means of this communication, rendering professional advice or services. Before making any decision or taking any action that may affect your finances or your business, you should consult a qualified professional adviser. No entity in the Deloitte network shall be responsible for any loss whatsoever sustained by any person who relies on this communication. © 2020. For information, contact Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited.