The Spanish government recently announced that it would lift entry restrictions and quarantine requirements for travelers from six countries.

Key Points:

  • As of Aug. 24, special travel restrictions and quarantine requirements for travelers from Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Namibia and South Africa have ended.
  • Individuals traveling from any of the aforementioned countries no longer have to undergo a ten-day quarantine when traveling to Spain.
  • Individuals from said countries are now subject to the general travel restrictions which are in effect until at least Aug. 31.
  • More information regarding the general travel restrictions can be found here.

BAL Analysis: The Spanish government lifted the special entry restrictions for the six countries because of the improving COVID-19 situation. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact