The Singaporean government recently announced that it would lift its travel ban for long-term pass holders with travel history from six South Asian countries and ease health protocols for others entering the country.

Key Points:

  • Beginning Oct. 27, long-term pass holders with a 14-day travel history in Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan or Sri Lanka will be allowed to enter or transit though the country.
  • Travelers from Category II, III and IV countries will no longer have to take a PCR test on arrival.
  • Travelers from Category III and IV countries will no longer have to take additional antigen tests during their Stay-Home Notice (SHN).
  • Travelers from Category III countries will be able to serve their SHN at home.

BAL Analysis: The decision to end the travel ban on the South Asia region is welcome news, as many long-term pass holders have been stuck in the effected countries since May of 2021. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact