The Singaporean Ministry of Health recently announced updates to its entry and testing requirements for Category II, III and IV countries.

Key Points:

  • Beginning Sept. 9, all individuals traveling to or transiting through Singapore from Category II, III or IV countries must show a negative PCR test taken within 48 hours of departure. Previously, tests had to be taken within 72 hours.
    • Travelers will still be subject to an on-arrival PCR test, Stay Home Notice (SHN), and a PCR test at the end of the SHN.
    • A full list of country and region classification categories can be found here.
  • Beginning Sept. 9, fully vaccinated travelers from Croatia, Egypt, Finland, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Saudi Arabia and Sweden may apply to carry out the 14-day SHN at home or another suitable location.
    • Fully vaccinated travelers from Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Norway and Switzerland may continue to apply to opt out of the facility-based SHN and carry it out at their respective residences.

Additional Information: All changes to border measures, entry requirements and health protocols will be updated on the SafeTravel website. Individuals should check the website before traveling to Singapore.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global practice. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact