The Home Office announced that the second APAC Youth Mobility Scheme ballot will open on July 24.

Key Points:

  • Beginning July 24, travelers ages 18 to 30 from Hong Kong (with a SAR passport), Japan, South Korea or Taiwan can apply for the Youth Mobility Scheme ballot.
  • The ballot window will be open for 48 hours until July 26, after which U.K. authorities will no longer accept new ballot applications.
  • Those planning to apply for the Youth Mobility Scheme ballot should review the eligibility requirements for the visa before entering the ballot.
  • Detailed instructions for applying for the Youth Mobility Scheme ballot are available here.
  • British Overseas Citizens, British Overseas Territories Citizens or British Nationals (Overseas) do not need to enter the ballot to apply under the Youth Mobility Scheme.

BAL Analysis: Eligible nationals of APAC countries will soon be able to apply for the Youth Mobility Scheme ballot; however, only a limited allocation of these visas is available. Successful applicants should receive an email by July 31. Those who are unsuccessful in the second ballot will receive an email within two weeks of the ballot closing. BAL will continue to monitor Youth Mobility Scheme developments and will provide more information as it becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2023 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact