What is the change? Russia will begin issuing e-visas to nationals of 18 countries arriving in Russia through the city of Vladivostok.

What does the change mean? Nationals of 18 countries – including India, China, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and Japan – will be eligible for the e-visa program. Tourist and business travel will be permitted on the visas, which will have a 30-day validity period and allow for stays of up to eight days.

  • Implementation time frame: Aug. 1.
  • Visas/permits affected: E-visas.
  • Who is affected: Eligible foreign nationals planning short trips to Russia via arrival in Vladivostok.
  • Impact on processing times: The change will save eligible travelers time because the e-visa process is significantly faster than that of obtaining a visa at a consulate or embassy. E-visas will generally be issued within four days from the time an application is submitted.

Background: Nationals of the following 18 countries will be eligible for e-visas:

Algeria China Japan Mexico Qatar Tunisia
Bahrain India Kuwait North Korea Saudi Arabia Turkey
Brunei Iran Morocco Oman Singapore UAE

E-visa applicants must submit an application online no more than 20 days and no fewer than four days before arriving in Vladivostok. E-visas may be used for business, tourism or humanitarian purposes, are good for a single visit and are not renewable. E-visa holders must arrive in Vladivostok, a port city on Russia’s Pacific Coast near Russia’s borders with China and North Korea, and must remain in the province of Primorsky Krai during their visits. Travelers using the e-visa program must arrive through the Vladivostok airport or the Vladivostok maritime checkpoint. More information is available on this Ministry of Foreign Affairs website.

 BAL Analysis: The change will significantly reduce processing times for eligible travelers and could provide a business and trade boost to Vladivostok and surrounding areas.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group and our network provider located in Russia. For additional information, please contact your BAL attorney.

Copyright © 2017 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact