The Qatari government implemented new travel and entry policies on Feb. 28.

Key Points:

  • As of Feb. 28, Qatari health authorities have changed country classifications from green, red and exceptional red to “Standard Health Measures or “Red Health Measures.”
    • Red Health Measures. There are nine red countries, including Bangladesh, Egypt, Georgia, India, Jordan, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines and Sri Lanka.
    • Standard Health Measures. Countries that are not subject to Red Health Measures will be subject to Standard Health Measures.
  • Foreign national visitors who are traveling from a country on the red list and are not fully vaccinated or have not previously recovered from COVID-19 will not be allowed to enter the country. Qatari citizens, residents and nonresidents who are fully vaccinated or previously recovered visitors will be allowed to enter Qatar if they follow the appropriate entry and health requirements.
  • A full list of entry and health requirements for those traveling to Qatar is available here.

Additional Information: Travelers arriving in Qatar must download and activate the Ehteraz app on their mobile phones upon entering the country. Travelers who must complete a hotel quarantine can book their stay on this website.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact