The Philippines government recently applied travel restrictions to Indonesia and extended restrictions for seven countries until at least July 31.

Key Points:

  • Put in effect on July 16, all individuals traveling from or have been in Indonesia within the past 14 days are barred from entering the country except for Filipinos returning on designated repatriation flights.
  • Individuals with travel history in Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka or the United Arab Emirates 14 days prior to intended arrival are not allowed to enter the Philippines until at least July 31.
  • Travelers who transited through one of the above countries and did not leave the airport are not affected by the ban.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact