The Bureau of Immigration has extended the travel ban for travelers coming from seven countries due to emerging COVID-19 variants.

Key Points:

  • Effective until June 15, travelers who have stayed in Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka or the United Arab Emirates within 14 days of intended arrival will be denied entry.
  • Travelers who have only transited through one of the above countries will still be allowed to enter the Philippines.

Additional Information: Filipinos, Balikbayans and foreign nationals with valid and existing visas who are not coming from one of the above countries will be permitted entry. Individuals arriving under a 9(a) Temporary Visitors’ Visa or a Special Resident Retirees Visa will need to show an entry exemption document to enter the country.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by Berry Appleman & Leiden. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact