The Peruvian government extended the State of National Emergency on June 1 for an additional 30 days and updated COVID-19-related travel restrictions.

Key Points:  

  • Until June 20, non-resident foreigners who have stayed in or transited through Brazil, India or South Africa within 14 days of intended arrival are not permitted entry into Peru.  
  • Peruvians or resident foreigners coming from or transiting through Brazil, India, or South Africa will be permitted entry but must carry out a 14-day mandatory quarantine upon arrival. 
  • Peruvians, resident foreigners and non-resident foreigners who enter the country must have proof of a negative PCR or Antigen test. If the test results are positive, individuals must quarantine according to Peruvian regulations.  

Additional Information: With effect until June 20, the government instituted curfew remains in effect according to alert levels by province. For more information regarding curfew policies and regulations visit here.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact  

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact