New Zealand has begun requiring almost all international travelers to self-isolate upon arrival. The change is one of a handful of measures New Zealand has implemented to mitigate the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

The current restrictions are as follows:

  • Foreign nationals who were in or transited through mainland China or Iran 14 days prior to leaving for New Zealand are not allowed to enter the country. The measures do not affect foreign nationals who were in Hong Kong, Macau or Taiwan.
  • Foreign nationals who were on a Diamond Princess Cruise as passengers or crew within 14 days from leaving the ship will not be allowed to enter.
  • The new restrictions do not apply to New Zealand nationals, permanent residents or residents who have valid travel conditions or their immediate family members. Australian nationals and permanent residents who have established New Zealand as their primary residence are also not subject to the restrictions.
  • New Zealand nationals, permanent residents or residents traveling from mainland China or Iran are requested to register with Healthline at 0800 358 5453 and undertake 14 days of self-isolation from the date of departure from that country or territory.
  • All foreign nationals who have been in countries and territories (not including airport transit) other than mainland China and Iran may enter the country but are requested to register with Healthline 0800 358 5453 and place themselves in 14-day self-isolation beginning from the date of departure from their inbound countries. These measures do not apply to some Pacific countries such as: Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Tokelau, Wallis and Futuna.
  • Recent travelers from these Pacific countries and territories do not have to self-isolate, but if they develop any COVID-19 symptoms within 14 days of leaving those locations they are to contact Healthline 0800 358 5453.
  • Cruise ships are banned from entering New Zealand’s territorial waters from now through June 30. This ban does not apply to cruise ships that were in New Zealand waters prior to its implementation.

Analysis & Comments: The New Zealand government will review the new restrictions in 16 days. Employers should account for affected travelers and rearrange travel schedules accordingly. Significant delays may also occur at this time for consular and in-country processing.Source: Deloitte. Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited (“DTTL”), its global network of member firms, and their related entities. DTTL (also referred to as “Deloitte Global”) and each of its member firms are legally separate and independent entities. DTTL does not provide services to clients. Please see to learn more. Deloitte Legal means the legal practices of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited member firms or their affiliates that provide legal services. For legal, regulatory and other reasons, not all member firms provide legal services. This communication contains general information only, and none of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, its member firms or their related entities (collectively, the “Deloitte network”) is, by means of this communication, rendering professional advice or services. Before making any decision or taking any action that may affect your finances or your business, you should consult a qualified professional adviser. No entity in the Deloitte network shall be responsible for any loss whatsoever sustained by any person who relies on this communication. © 2020. For information, contact Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited.