Under a bill President Donald Trump signed into law Wednesday, New Zealand has been added to the list of countries whose citizens are eligible for E-1 Treaty Trader and E-2 Treaty Investor visas.

Key points:

  • The “Knowledgeable Innovators and Worthy Investors” (KIWI) Act makes New Zealand citizens eligible for E-1 and E-2 visas if U.S. nationals receive reciprocal treatment by New Zealand.
  • The nonimmigrant visas allow nationals of countries with which the United States has a treaty of commerce and navigation to engage in substantial trade with the U.S. (E-1) or invest in and direct a business enterprise in the U.S. (E-2). Eligibility criteria are available on the State Department’s website.
  • Spouses are eligible for dependent visas and are eligible to apply for employment authorization.

BAL Analysis: The addition of New Zealanders to the list of nationals eligible for E-1 and E-2 visas is intended to enhance business, trade and investment between the two countries.

This alert has been provided by the BAL U.S. Practice group. For additional information, please contact berryapplemanleiden@bal.com.

Copyright © 2018 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact copyright@bal.com.