The government of Mozambique has introduced visa-free entry for nationals of 29 countries.

Key Points:

  • Nationals who hold a valid passport from 29 countries, including Canada, China, Indonesia, Singapore, South Korea, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States and most of the European Union, can now enter the country without a visa.
  • Visa-free travelers can stay in Mozambique for unpaid business and tourism purposes for up to 30 days and renew their stay for an additional 30 days (subject to approval).
  • Visa-free travelers are temporarily no longer required to complete preregistration before departure; however, they must to pay 650 MZN (about US$10) upon arrival.
  • A full list of countries eligible for visa-free entry is available here.

BAL Analysis: Authorities of Mozambique have introduced visa-free entry for nationals of 29 countries to increase travel to the country. Foreign nationals should ensure they are eligible for visa-free entry or obtain an entry visa before traveling to the country. Visa-free travelers are not permitted to conduct paid business activities while in the country.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2023 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact