Kazakhstan has made changes to work permit rules and ended its state of emergency.

Key Points:

  • Applications for initial work-permits, renewals and amendments are now only accepted electronically using these government websites: and Required supporting documents are to be submitted through them as well.
  • Previously, having a job reference from a former employer was required for securing a work permit that was not covered by an intra-company transfer. Now, the new employer is required to provide a confirmation letter showing the employee’s skills and experience match the offered job.
  • Employers are obligated to replace foreign employees with local ones within a period of six months to one year when requesting work permits for fourth-category employees (i.e., employees who are not managers or specialists).
  • Work permit renewal applications are to be submitted no earlier than 60 days before the work permit expiration date. The deadline for renewal application submission is still 30 days before the work permit expiration date.
  • The state of emergency in Kazakhstan ended May 11.
  • Additionally, visas, residence permits and work permits that expired during the state of emergency are valid until July 10. The state of emergency was in effect from March 16 to May 10. Visa-free stay terms have also been extended until July 10.
  • Foreign nationals in Kazakhstan whose documents and stay terms expired during the state of emergency are allowed to leave the country or secure a new residence permit or visa until July 10.
  • Previously announced restrictions on the entry of foreign nationals into the country remain in effect, as do previously issued exceptions.
  • The visa-free travel program for foreign nationals from 57 countries has been suspended until Nov. 1.
  • In accordance with bilateral international agreements, visa-free entry is allowed for foreign nationals from the following countries: Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Brazil, Ecuador, Georgia, Hong Kong, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Mongolia, Russia, Serbia, Tajikistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

Analysis & Comments: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and Deloitte will provide additional updates as information becomes available. Please check Deloitte’s COVID-19 Digital Map, available here, for information on travel restrictions and immigration changes in other countries.

Rest of World Source: Deloitte. Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited (“DTTL”), its global network of member firms, and their related entities. DTTL (also referred to as “Deloitte Global”) and each of its member firms are legally separate and independent entities. DTTL does not provide services to clients. Please see to learn more. Deloitte Legal means the legal practices of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited member firms or their affiliates that provide legal services. For legal, regulatory and other reasons, not all member firms provide legal services. This includes Deloitte Tax LLP in the United States which does not provide legal and/or immigration advice or services. This communication contains general information only, and none of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, its member firms or their related entities (collectively, the “Deloitte network”) is, by means of this communication, rendering professional advice or services. Before making any decision or taking any action that may affect your finances or your business, you should consult a qualified professional adviser. No entity in the Deloitte network shall be responsible for any loss whatsoever sustained by any person who relies on this communication. © 2020. For information, contact Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited.