Japan has updated its entry ban to include 87 countries. The updated ban, which adds 14 countries, took effect Wednesday, April 29, and will remain in force until further notice.

Key Points:

  • Foreign nationals who have stayed in the following countries/regions within 14 days are prohibited from entering Japan: Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belarus, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Kuwait, Oman, Peru, Qatar, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine and United Arab Emirates.
  • The entrance ban includes permanent residents who leave Japan on or after April 29.

The following countries were included under previously implemented rules.

  • Asia: Armenia, Brunei, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam.
  • Oceania: Australia, New Zealand.
  • North America: Canada, United States.
  • Latin America and the Caribbean: Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Panama.
  • Europe: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Northern Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Vatican.
  • Middle East: Bahrain, Iran, Israel, Turkey.
  • Africa: Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Mauritius, Morocco.

Analysis & Comments: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and Deloitte will provide additional updates as information becomes available. Please check Deloitte’s COVID-19 Digital Map, available here, for information on travel restrictions and immigration changes in other countries.

Rest of World Source: Deloitte. Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited (“DTTL”), its global network of member firms, and their related entities. DTTL (also referred to as “Deloitte Global”) and each of its member firms are legally separate and independent entities. DTTL does not provide services to clients. Please see to learn more. Deloitte Legal means the legal practices of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited member firms or their affiliates that provide legal services. For legal, regulatory and other reasons, not all member firms provide legal services. This includes Deloitte Tax LLP in the United States which does not provide legal and/or immigration advice or services. This communication contains general information only, and none of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, its member firms or their related entities (collectively, the “Deloitte network”) is, by means of this communication, rendering professional advice or services. Before making any decision or taking any action that may affect your finances or your business, you should consult a qualified professional adviser. No entity in the Deloitte network shall be responsible for any loss whatsoever sustained by any person who relies on this communication.