Italy has implemented a temporary ban on travel from 16 countries to mitigate the spread of COVID-19.

Key Points:

  • Officials have announced that travelers who have visited or stayed in any of the following countries 14 days prior to their intended date of entry to Italy will be banned: Armenia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Chile, the Dominican Republic, Kosovo, Kuwait, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Oman, Panama, Peru and Serbia.
  • Entry from these 16 countries will be suspended through July 31.
  • Direct and indirect flights to and from these countries have also been suspended.
  • The ban does not apply residents of Italy who are nationals of European Union/Schengen Area countries, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, the United Kingdom or the Vatican, provided they were registered as Italian residents before July 9.
  • All travelers to Italy are required to fill out, sign and submit a self-declaration form to the air carrier or police authorities.

Background: Italy lifted some travel restrictions the first week of July, but is implementing the new temporary ban as a precautionary measure.

Analysis & Comments: The temporary ban on travel will briefly restrict employee mobility from the 16 countries. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and Deloitte will provide additional updates as information becomes available. Please check Deloitte’s COVID-19 Digital Map, available here, for information on travel restrictions and immigration changes in other countries.

Rest of World Source: Deloitte. Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited (“DTTL”), its global network of member firms, and their related entities. DTTL (also referred to as “Deloitte Global”) and each of its member firms are legally separate and independent entities. DTTL does not provide services to clients. Please see to learn more. Deloitte Legal means the legal practices of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited member firms or their affiliates that provide legal services. For legal, regulatory and other reasons, not all member firms provide legal services. This includes Deloitte Tax LLP in the United States which does not provide legal and/or immigration advice or services. This communication contains general information only, and none of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, its member firms or their related entities (collectively, the “Deloitte network”) is, by means of this communication, rendering professional advice or services. Before making any decision or taking any action that may affect your finances or your business, you should consult a qualified professional adviser. No entity in the Deloitte network shall be responsible for any loss whatsoever sustained by any person who relies on this communication.