The Irish Government has published a green list of 15 countries and territories. Individuals coming from a country on the green list do not need to self-isolate or restrict movement in Ireland when they arrive from the green-listed country.

Key Points:

  • The following countries/territories are currently included on the green list: Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Monaco, Norway, San Marin and Slovakia.
  • Individuals traveling to Ireland from any other country not listed above will be required to restrict their movement in Ireland for 14 days immediately upon entry.
  • Individuals traveling from Northern Ireland are also exempt from the requirement to restrict movements or self-isolate.
  • It should be noted that general advice still states that non-essential travel is to be avoided at this time.

Additional information: This change took effect this week. It is anticipated that the green list will be reviewed every two weeks.

Analysis & Comments: Employers should note, that employees entering Ireland from a country that is not on the green list will need to restrict their movement for 14 days and will therefore be unable to work in any location other than their private residence. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and Deloitte will provide additional updates as information becomes available. Please check Deloitte’s COVID-19 Digital Map, available here, for information on travel restrictions and immigration changes in other countries.

Rest of World Source: Deloitte. Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited (“DTTL”), its global network of member firms, and their related entities. DTTL (also referred to as “Deloitte Global”) and each of its member firms are legally separate and independent entities. DTTL does not provide services to clients. Please see to learn more. Deloitte Legal means the legal practices of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited member firms or their affiliates that provide legal services. For legal, regulatory and other reasons, not all member firms provide legal services. This includes Deloitte Tax LLP in the United States which does not provide legal and/or immigration advice or services. This communication contains general information only, and none of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, its member firms or their related entities (collectively, the “Deloitte network”) is, by means of this communication, rendering professional advice or services. Before making any decision or taking any action that may affect your finances or your business, you should consult a qualified professional adviser. No entity in the Deloitte network shall be responsible for any loss whatsoever sustained by any person who relies on this communication.