The Irish government has lifted COVID-related visa restrictions on nationals of South Africa and a number of South American countries.

Key Points:

  • As of June 16, travelers who hold passports issued by the following countries no longer need to obtain an entry visa to travel to Ireland:
    • Argentina
    • Bolivia
    • Brazil
    • Chile
    • Guyana
    • Paraguay
    • South Africa
    • Uruguay
  • Under temporary restrictions that were imposed on Jan. 28, nationals of these countries were required to obtain entry visas. While the visa requirement has been lifted, nationals of these countries will have to meet Ireland’s conditions of entry related to the purpose of their stay.
  • Travelers who are unsure whether they require a visa or preclearance to enter Ireland can check here for more information.

BAL Analysis: While the change will make travel easier for nationals of some countries, employers should note that Ireland continues to enforce COVID-related conditions of entry and that an advisory against non-essential international travel remains in place. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by Berry Appleman & Leiden. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact