What is the change? The Chinese Embassy in Singapore has suspended its express and rush visa services for nationals of the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.

What does the change mean? Affected nationals, including diplomatic and official passport holders, applying in Singapore will not be able to rely on the expedited options. The Chinese Embassy suspended these services indefinitely due to high volume from the listed countries.

  • Implementation time frame: Immediate and ongoing.
  • Visas/permits affected: All visas.
  • Who is affected: All passport holders of the 16 listed countries who are applying for Chinese visas in Singapore.
  • Impact on processing times: Affected nationals will not be able to use the express or rush services and will have to rely on regular service, which is approximately four days.
  • Business impact: Individuals from the affected countries may be delayed from fulfilling urgent travel needs.

Background: The Chinese Embassy in Singapore announced the suspension Nov. 18, and the visa application center has confirmed that the service is unlikely to resume anytime in the near future. Rush and express service is still available for other nationalities.

B·A·L Analysis: Employers and nationals of the 16 European countries applying for Chinese visas in Singapore should not rely on expedited service and should factor in the additional processing time when planning business schedules.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group in China. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2016 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact