The Japanese government extended its tourist eVisa to foreign nationals living in 11 countries.

Key Points:

  • Foreign nationals who live in Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Mongolia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Taiwan, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and the United States are now eligible to travel to Japan using an eVisa for short-term tourist visits.
  • Individuals eligible for the eVisa are foreign nationals residing in a country other than the one where they hold citizenship, such as an Indian national currently living in the United States.
  • The eVisa is valid for 90 days for travelers arriving in Japan by air. It is not valid for business or family reunification travel.

Additional Information: Travelers who hold passports from the 69 countries that are part of Japan’s visa exemption program, including the U.S., are not required to obtain an eVisa to visit the country.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice Group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2023 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact