The European Council has removed Argentina, Australia and Canada its safe-travel list.

Key Points:

  • As of Jan. 17, the European Council no longer advises member states lift restrictions on travel from Argentina, Australia and Canada.
  • The Council the continues to recommend the lifting of restrictions for Bahrain, Chile, China, Colombia, Indonesia, Kuwait, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, the United Arab Emirates and Uruguay.

Additional Information: Press reports indicate that EU countries plan to lift restrictions on travel from South African countries.

BAL Analysis: The European Council continues to update its COVID-19 travel recommendations, and while member states have, in many cases, moved to implement the recommendations, exact policies will vary from country to country. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2022 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact