What is the change? Australia has expanded its electronic application system for the Subclass 600 (visitor) Visa to 66 more countries.

What does the change mean? Nationals of those countries may now apply online for visitor visas.

  • Implementation timeframe: 1 August.
  • Visas/permits affected: Subclass 600 (visitor) Visas.
  • Who is affected: Nationals of the 66 countries and territories in the chart below.
  • Impact on processing times:

Background: Nationals of the following territories may now lodge applications for visitor visas electronically via an online application.

Angola Cayman Islands Falkland Islands Liberia Nigeria Swaziland
Anguilla Central African Republic Gabon Madagascar Philippines Tajikistan
Armenia Chad Gambia Malawi Pitcairn Islands Tanzania
Benin Comoros Ghana Mali Rwanda Togo
Bermuda Democratic Rep. of Congo Gibraltar Mauritania Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Turkmenistan
Bosnia and Herzegovina Republic of Congo Guinea Mauritius Sao Tome and Principe Turks and Caicos Islands
Botswana Cote d’Ivoire Guinea-Bissau Montserrat Senegal Uganda
Burkina Faso Djibouti Kenya Mozambique Seychelles Uzbekistan
Burundi Equatorial Guinea Kosovo Namibia Sierra Leone Virgin Islands
Cameroon Eritrea Kyrgyzstan New Zealand South Africa Zambia
Cape Verde Ethiopia Lesotho Niger Republic of South Sudan Zimbabwe

BAL Analysis: Online lodgement of visitor visa applications is part of Australia’s overall move toward streamlined, electronic services.

This alert has been provided by BAL Australia. For additional information, please contact

MARN: 9683856

Copyright © 2016 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact