What is the change? Ukraine is poised to launch an e-visa program for nationals of 47 countries, including Australia, Indonesia, Mexico, Saudi Arabia and Singapore.

What does the change mean? Once implemented, the program will allow nationals of the 47 countries to apply for e-visas valid for up to 30 days for business or tourist travel.

  • Implementation time frame: Ongoing. Government officials have approved the e-visa program; the issuance of visas is expected to begin soon.
  • Visas/permits affected: E-visas.
  • Who is affected: Nationals of 47 countries traveling to Ukraine for business or tourism.
  • Impact on processing times: The change will save travelers time in the application process because e-visas will be issued much faster than consular visas.

Background: Ukrainian officials announced the creation of an e-visa program in 2017, but implementation was delayed. E-visa procedures have now been put in place and officials are expected to begin accepting applications soon. Under current policies, nationals of the following countries will be eligible for e-visas:

Antigua and Barbuda Costa Rica Honduras Mexico Peru Suriname
Australia Dominica Indonesia Micronesia Qatar Thailand
Bahamas Dominican Republic Jamaica Myanmar Samoa Timor-Leste
Bahrain El Salvador Kuwait Nepal Saudi Arabia Trinidad and Tobago
Barbados Fiji Laos Nicaragua St. Lucia Tuvalu
Bhutan Grenada Malaysia New Zealand St. Vincent and the Grenadines United Arab Emirates
Bolivia Guatemala Maldives Oman Seychelles Vanuatu
Cambodia Haiti Mauritius Palau Singapore  

Ukraine waives visa requirements altogether for nationals of roughly 60 countries, including Brazil, Canada, Russia, Switzerland, Turkey, the United States, the United Arab Emirates and European Union member states.

Those eligible for visa-free travel are eligible to stay in Ukraine for business or tourism for up to 90 days in a 180-day period.

While the UAE remains on the e-visa list, the subsequent implementation of a visa-free travel agreement between the UAE and Ukraine means that obtaining e-visas is not necessary for UAE nationals.

BAL Analysis: The e-visa program will ease travel procedures to Ukraine for nationals of 47 countries. Travelers should note, however, that while the visas will be available for tourism or business, employment activities are prohibited on e-visas.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group and our network provider located in Ukraine. For additional information, please contact your BAL attorney.

Copyright © 2018 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact