What is the change? Uzbekistan is poised to launch an e-visa program for nationals of 51 countries, including Australia, Canada, China, India, Switzerland, the United Arab Emirates, the United States and European Union countries.

What does the change mean? The program will allow nationals of 51 countries to apply for e-visas that are valid for single stays of up to 30 days for business or tourist travel.

  • Implementation time frame: The program is expected to be launched Sunday.
  • Visas/permits affected: E-visas.
  • Who is affected: Nationals of 51 countries traveling to Uzbekistan for business or tourism.
  • Impact on processing times: The change will save travelers time in the application process. Officials anticipate that e-visas will be issued within two business days after the application is submitted.

Background: The e-visas will be issued under a resolution signed by President Shavkat Mirziyoyev on July 4. The visas will be available to adult travelers for single stays of up to 30 days. Children under 16 years of age from one of the 51 countries will be allowed to travel visa-free, provided they have a passport and are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. Additionally, under the resolution, nationals from 101 countries will now be eligible for visa-free transit for up to five days.

The countries whose nationals are eligible for the e-visa program are:

Eligible Countries

Albania Andorra Austria
Australia Belgium Bosnia & Herzegovina
Bulgaria Canada China (including Hong Kong)
Croatia Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland France
Germany Greece Hungary
Iceland India Ireland
Italy Kuwait Latvia
Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg
Macedonia Malta Monoco
Netherlands New Zealand Norway
Montenegro Oman Poland
Portugal Romania San Marino
Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia
Slovenia Spain Sweden
Switzerland Thailand United Arab Emirates
United Kingdom United States Vatican City

BAL Analysis: The e-visa program will ease travel procedures to Uzbekistan for nationals of 51 countries. Travelers should note, however, that while the visas will be available for short-stay tourism or business, employment activities or visits of longer than 30 days will be prohibited on e-visas.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group and our network provider located in Uzbekistan. For additional information, please contact your BAL attorney.

Copyright © 2018 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries please contact