The United Arab Emirates updated its travel requirements for individuals arriving from India and five other countries.

Key Points:

  • All passengers with a valid UAE residence visa may travel to and through Dubai from India, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Uganda if they meet the following requirements:
    • Dubai visa holders must apply for pre-entry approval through the General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs.
    • Travelers must have a valid COVID-19 PCR test certificate conducted within 48 hours of departure.
    • Travelers must conduct a rapid PCR test 4 hours before their scheduled departure.
    • Travelers must conduct a PCR test upon arrival in Dubai.
  • UAE citizens are now exempt from the above requirements except for completing a PCR test upon arrival in Dubai.
  • UAE residents flying from any of the above countries no longer need a COVID-19 vaccination certificate to enter Dubai.

Additional Information: All other individuals who have been in one of the aforementioned countries within 14 days of intended arrival are barred from entering Dubai. Only PCR tests from certified labs that issue QR codes linking to the original results will be accepted.

BAL Analysis: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact