The Canadian government has extended the Prohibition of Entry into Canada from the United States from April 22 to May 21.

Key Points:

  • Foreign nationals are prohibited from entering Canada from the United States if they:
    • Have COVID-19, exhibit signs or symptoms of having the virus or there are reasonable grounds to suspect they have symptoms.
    • Seek to enter for an optional or discretionary purpose, such as tourism, recreation or entertainment.
    • Are unable to meet quarantine requirements.
  • Individuals entering Canada from the United States for the purpose of making a refugee claim are permitted to do so under certain conditions.
  • Foreign nationals who are Canadian permanent residents, protected persons or whose purpose is to provide essential services, may enter Canada provided they meet all related requirements, including having a credible self-isolation plan covering 14 days post-entry.

Background: Last week, the United States, Canada and Mexico agreed to extend border restrictions currently in place between the three countries.

Analysis & Comments: The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and Deloitte will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert was prepared by de Lint LLP, an independent immigration law firm, allied with Deloitte LLP in Canada.