The Australian government has postponed the easing of entry restrictions for international inbound travelers, including students and skilled workers.

Key Points:

  • Non-Australian citizens from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe are barred from entering Australia until at least Dec. 15.
    • Australian citizens, permanent residents and immediate family members including parents arriving from countries listed above must undergo a supervised quarantine for 14 days.
  • Authorities delayed the reopening of travel for Japanese and South Korean nationals until at least Dec. 15.
  • Australia’s border remains closed to all travelers except:
    • Fully vaccinated Australian citizens and their immediate family.
    • Permanent residents and their immediate family.
    • Fully vaccinated green-lane travelers from New Zealand and Singapore.

Additional Information: Australians flying internationally to New South Wales and Victoria must undergo a 72 hour quarantine. Australians flying internationally to any other state must quarantine for 14 days. State and territory quarantine requirements can be found here. More information on travel restrictions and exemptions can be found here.

BAL Analysis: The Omicron variant of the COVID-19 virus will make travel to Australia from a number of countries in Southern Africa more difficult in the days and weeks ahead. The response to the COVID-19 pandemic continues to develop, and BAL will provide additional updates as information becomes available.

This alert has been provided by the BAL Global Practice group. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact