The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) announced last week that it would extend visa-free entry for an additional year for citizens of Brunei, the Philippines, Russia and Thailand.

Key Points:

  • Visa-free entry will be extended for nationals of Brunei, the Philippines, Russia and Thailand for tourism purposes until July 31, 2022.
  • The Project for Simplifying Visa Regulations for High-end Group Tourists from Southeast Asia Countries will be extended until Dec. 31, 2022. Tourist groups of five or more who are traveling with an approved travel agency from Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam will continue to be allowed to use electronic visas to enter the country.
  • The extension will not alter current COVID-19 travel bans. Foreign tourists remain barred from entering the country until at least July 26.

Additional Information: MOFA stated that it will continue to review and refine visa policies to attract more visitors and increase border security.

This alert has been provided by Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For additional information, please contact

Copyright © 2021 Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. All rights reserved. Reprinting or digital redistribution to the public is permitted only with the express written permission of Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP. For inquiries, please contact